Underground Division Staff Recognition

McMillen Jacobs and Associates Logo
Print Image

Geoffrey Bee, Mark D. Havekost, and Farid Sariosseiri coauthored a paper on “Pipeline Design for Predetermined Levels of Seismically Induced Differential Settlement” for the UESI Pipelines 2020 Conference.

William Gates, Jim Struthers, Jamie Schick, and Ethan Guzek gave a presentation October 15 on “Emergency Rockfall Assessment & Mitigation, US-95, MP 188 near Riggins, ID” on behalf of the Idaho Transportation Department for the 2020 State DOT and Federal Lands “All-Regions” Geotechnical Case Histories Peer Exchange.

Ethan Guzek, William Gates, and Carol Ravano presented their paper on “Emergency Slope Stabilization and Snowshed Repairs at Stampede Pass: A Complex Rockslide Requiring Evolving Mitigation Strategies” at the AREMA 2020 Virtual Conference and Expo.

Staff Recognition


Glenn Boyce gave a presentation on “Tunnel Portal and Shaft Design and Construction” at the 13th Annual Breakthroughs in Tunneling Virtual Short Course.

Allison Halvorson received the 2020 Society for Marketing Professional Services (SMPS) San Francisco Bay Area Chapter Marketer of the Year Award. This award recognizes recipients’ personal achievements, extraordinary leadership, and significant contributions to their firm’s marketing success during the past one to two years.

John Kaplin was elected to The Moles as part of the “Class of 2020,” effective May 1, 2021. Formed in 1937, The Moles has long been considered a highly prestigious fraternal organization of the tunneling and heavy construction industry.

Tennyson Muindi received the 2020 American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Pipeline Division Award of Excellence. The annual Award of Excellence is given to a Fellow, Member, or Associate Member of ASCE who is determined by the Executive Committee to have given outstanding continuous and conspicuous service to the profession, the ASCE, and the Pipeline Division.